TorGuard
Phlash

BitTorrent setup through VPN

Rate this question

Question

Phlash

Using VPN specifically for private torrent downloading.

Followed Knowledge Base instructions and used the checkMyTorrent tool but error is "offline (timed out)" which isn't covered.

I have tried different proxy setups but cannot get it started.

Is there another guide or way to set bittorrent/utorrent up with Torguard VPN??

5 answers to this question

shel2000

I have the same problem, have only had torguard for 2 weeks and it seems to work when it wants to (which is not often). I am a newbie, so I must be doing something wrong I guess. Hopefully someone can steer us in the right direction with this.

Support

Hey guys - are you trying to setup the VPN AND the proxy together ?

Regards

KomputerEyes

I have my uTorrent (version 3.4.5, but it should work for many other versions) setup to use the Torguard VPN connection exclusively. I also have the killswitch setup to kill uTorrent if the connection is dropped, (ie. if I click on Disconnect.)

To setup Torguard to shutdown your uTorrent client if Torguard disconnects (accidental or deliberate):

1. You will want to open uTorrent in a state where it cannot communicate over the Internet, disable your network connections by disconnecting your Ethernet cable or closing your wireless connection.
  2. Open Torguard, but do not connect.
  3. Open 'More Settings...'
  4. In the 'App Kill' tab, check the box 'Terminate these applications when VPN disconnects'
  5. Click on 'Select...' (this will show a list of running applications)
  6. Scroll down to 'utorrent.exe' and select.
  7. Click on 'OK' (utorrent.exe will now show up in the list box of apps to kill if your Torguard client disconnects.)
  8. Click on 'Save'
  9. Test by re-enabling your network connection (with your torrents paused); Connect with Torguard; after a connection is established, disconnect and ensure that uTorrent client disappears.