TorGuard
Sign in to follow this  
crimean2020

Torrent Proxy killing utorrent download speeds

Rate this question

Question

crimean2020

Hi, I am new to using the torrent proxy.  Have set it up correctly in utorrent and tested it and all works fine - except when I begin to download.  My usual download speed is 2 - 3 mb/s, with the proxy on I"m crawling to 1.3mb/s at best and usually way, way less.  It seems very erratic.  Sometimes it stalls completely.  Is this to be expected?

- using proxy.torguard.org on port 1090

- when proxy is on, Incoming TCP port has "Connection Status:Not connectable"  If this matters?

Any help greatly appreciated !!!

Thank you~~

7 answers to this question

crimean2020

Sorry forgot to mention, am on a mac running 10.10.3

MarcusT

I'm having a similar problem on a clean build Windows 8 machine with uT 2.2.1 and have followed the instructions here (have you?) so I think we can rule out the OS itself and uT configuration. Any suggestions, anyone?

DrNo

I have the same issues, both on my Mac using Deluge and on my Win PC using uTorrent.  Varying the ports haven't helped either.  :/

omar

try different torrent client

omar

or even better, try asking for real IP of the country thats closest to you, instead of generic hostname

Andrew Thomson

thanks got it working using the below 

Hi, finally I managed to get things work stable, using ABauer method. Here is what I've done :
1) uninstall Kaspersky antivirus
2) using â€‹Kaspersky remover utility , select KTS 2015 (2 versions proposed) then another turn for 2016. Please note that this step erases every information like antispam collection, licensing info etc.)
3) reboot
4) uninstall TAP-windows
5) optionnaly, I uninstalled every program that could interfere or filter over my network connections (here, Hagel DU meter 7.09)
6) reboot