TorGuard
Sign in to follow this  

OpenVPN Setup on a Dir-825 DD-WRT Flashed Router

Rate this question

Question

Maybe some users here can help me. Fair warning, this may get a bit long.

I just signed up for service yesterday and I tried setting up my router with no luck. I am a IT Tech - 14 years in the business but unfortunately networking is my weakness still.

I have to mention that although I've gotten responses from the service desk, no remote help yet, I'm not impressed with the lack of real "Live Help".

Anyway,

I have a D-Link Dir-825 Rev. B1 flashed with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13)(SVN revision 21061) and I've tried both the easy setup tool as well the quick and easy manual setup. Can't not get the VPN to work even after trying the troubleshooting tips.

I tried to go the long route/manual setup as stated here: http://torguard.net/knowledgebase.php?action=displayarticle&id=106

but I'm stuck in these area's.

1.) From line 2. Now you need to download an OpenVPN config from our My Servers page in your TG client account to obtain the IP address, Port, and Certificate info.

Open the .ovpn file of the server you wish to connect to and note the information highlighted below:

How do I open the .ovpn file so I can see the info I need? Windows does not know how to open such files. And where do I find the cert file?

I found a CA file in the TorguardPro zip file but that's it. Then I found two different ones located on the Server Status page?

I'm completely lost.

The Windows client works fine. But like most, I need it to work through my router.

Does anyone know if the DIR-825 is just not a good unit for OpenVPN? I see that the Asus RT-N16 seems to be a fairly popular model. I just don't want to spend more money on another router if my current router is not the issue.

Also, how do I enable logging?

I hope someone can help me sooner than later.

Thank sin advance for any help.

6 answers to this question

59696_1511348127