TorGuard
Sign in to follow this  
Tardisman

Install VPN LinuxMint

Rate this question

Question

Tardisman

I am very new to using Linux which I have on my laptop and was given the advice that Mint was very similar to Windows which I have used for years.

My question is has anybody managed to set up a VPN on LinuxMint and if so could you possibly put a simple step by step guide for thickie people like me.

I believe that LinuxMint is based on Debian but when I tried to follow the debian instruction for installing a VPN that were supplied on the site I got totally lost.

Any and all help gratefully accepted

Thanks in advance

9 answers to this question

Try the Ubuntu instructions - it was pretty straightforward for me.

KSmith

I am having the same trouble... I am using the Ubuntu instructions but when I get down to the Network Connections portion.... none of that makes sense in Mint (at least in Mint 16). I don't have a Network Connections window and no way that I can find to point anything to TorGuard. I tried importing settings into a generic VPN setup but it said the file was the wrong type.

Has anyone done this and can you tell me what I'm missing?

Thanks

Support

@KSmith

Have you tried the Torguard Lite app for Linux ? or do you guys prefer to use the network-manager part ?

Regards

KSmith

OK, this has been a long, hard road but I have *finally* gotten this to work. What did work was this:

https://torguard.net/knowledgebase.php?action=displayarticle&id=32

So, yeah, it works but it seems that the only way to start TorGuard is through the Terminal and I need to put in my TG User Name & Password to Start TG and then again for EACH server that I changed from .opvn to .conf. :- I started out with six or so servers that I changed the extension on but ended up going back and changing five back to .opvn because it was such a pain in the a$$ to keep inputting the User Name & Password over and over again.