TorGuard

Using ad block DNS and Wireguard apps seem to have no internet connection.

BurntCheese

Question

Hello! I just got this service and noticed when using wireguard and DNS active my email app and others act as if I have no internet connection.  After playing around I found turning off DNS fixes the issue. How can I fix this? Should I run a different protocol other than wireguard? I’m fairly new to VPN’s coming from a simple pick your server and connect service. I don’t mind tinkering but was wondering if this is a known issue and any simple fixes? 
Thanks in advance. 

5 answers to this question

The problem happens when I toggle on “ad blocking dns” from the torguard app. I’ve tried different VPN servers and got the same result. Wireguard seems to work fine when I have the dns off. 
I’m not sure what the best protocol to run is I just figured wireguard since it’s set by default.

8 hours ago, BurntCheese said:

The problem happens when I toggle on “ad blocking dns” from the torguard app. I’ve tried different VPN servers and got the same result. Wireguard seems to work fine when I have the dns off. 
I’m not sure what the best protocol to run is I just figured wireguard since it’s set by default.

I personally have my own DNS blocklist and only use that. But according to a reply from @Support they use some well known blocklists and their custom list to compile the domain block list:

If you are facing issues only with Ad Blocking DNS, I would recommend you open a support ticket and discuss it with them. Make sure to mention the apps/services/websites that are not working. And in the meantime, just use a different DNS. In case you want to block ads, try using AdGuard's DNS:

Default (blocks ads, tracking domains) :

Family Protection (blocks Default + adult content) :

You can find more information related to AdGuard here.