TorGuard
Somebody

Asking for help setting up Win10 server for torrenting

Rate this question

Question

Somebody

Greetings,

I am sure this has been asked and answered multiple times, but I wasn't able to quickly find my answers (not spending 10 hours sifting through pages and pages of pseudo related content).

I am new to the VPN scene. I bought a small i5 6 core machine to use as a dedicated torrent box.  I was initially going to set it up and use it as a VPN server dishing out DHCP to the rest of my network and also to 'turn on' VPN protection for the network with a few clicks of a button, but I don't think I have a real need for that.

I downloaded 'torguard' app and I am running that.  I did a speed test and I am getting about 25% of my regular ISP speeds through a speed test and it failed during the upload process.  My regular ISP speeds are 100Mbps and a lightning fast 5Mbps (end sarcasm) upload.

Do I need to purchase a dedicated IP to achieve close to my regular ISP speeds?  I did see a few threads about persons not getting the speeds with their dedicated IP and a few users suggested that they make some checks and use google in the network settings..... but I think those users were using their router as a VPN device.  I was looking in the TorGuard app but I don't see where to change any of those settings.  Then I thought about changing them in the virtual network adapter properties but then wasn't sure if that would hinder me even more.

Could someone be so kind as to give me a little guidance or at least link to a thread that answers my questions?

Thanks

3 answers to this question

molitar

For torrent don't use VPN it's too much for torrenting. Use a Socks5 Proxy for Torrenting.

Support
On 2/20/2020 at 3:37 AM, Somebody said:

Greetings,

I am sure this has been asked and answered multiple times, but I wasn't able to quickly find my answers (not spending 10 hours sifting through pages and pages of pseudo related content).