TorGuard

Can one router have two different LAN connections

Rate this question

Heywood

Question

Hi guys,

i am new to this whole router vpn world. My question is this could I have a router that assigns a 1 LAN port as a normal connection and another LAN port as a VPN connection?. It would have the same connection going into the WAN port coming in from my primary router. So basically can one router provide a VPN connection and a normal connection through 2 Ethernet cables? If this is possible which router should I get for optimal speed and optimal amount of ports, need at least 3 LANs. If it’s not possible what could I do?

thanks,

3 answers to this question

On 11/8/2018 at 11:53 PM, Heywood said:

Hi guys,

i am new to this whole router vpn world. My question is this could I have a router that assigns a 1 LAN port as a normal connection and another LAN port as a VPN connection?. It would have the same connection going into the WAN port coming in from my primary router. So basically can one router provide a VPN connection and a normal connection through 2 Ethernet cables? If this is possible which router should I get for optimal speed and optimal amount of ports, need at least 3 LANs. If it’s not possible what could I do?

thanks,

I dont know for sure but I think this doable. I think it's done by forwarding.

Maybe you should try a specialized site to get an sophisticated answer (smallnetbuilders).

Kepp us updated if you solved your problem.

yes, I think you can accomplish this by utilizing selective policy routing. I use Asus routers with Merlin FW that allow for policy routing based on IP address. Just route your LAN IP address's to vpn or WAN connection as required.